Order of the Arrow - Nguttitehen Lodge

Order of the Arrow - Nguttitehen Lodge

Harrison Fry Elected As 2017 Order of the Arrow Southern Region Chief

On Wednesday, Dec. 28, 2016 the Order of the Arrow (OA) elected new youth officers for 2017 during the OA National Planning Meeting. Harrison Dean Fry, an Eagle Scout from the Lincoln Heritage Council was elected as the 2017 Order of the Arrow Southern Region Chief.

Harrison is a Vigil Honor Member of the Nguttitehen Lodge, from South Fulton, Tennessee and an Eagle Scout from Troop 2043 in Four Rivers District.

After the merger of White Horse and Talligewi Lodges, Fry led the newly chartered Nguttitehen Lodge as their first Lodge Chief. In 2015, he served as the SR-6 Section Secretary and most recently, as the SR-6 Section Chief. He is the recipient of the OA Founder’s Award. Currently, Harrison is a sophomore at Murray State University where he is studying in Small and Medium Business Enterprise Management.

“Harrison is one of the reasons adults get into Scouting. There are times when adults influence the program and kids but then there are times youth get involved and they impact everyone. That is Harrison,” commented Don Ault, Lodge Advisor for the Nguttitehen Lodge.

The Region Chief is the youth leader of the Region elected by the Section Chiefs from that Region at the National Planning Meeting. He must be under twenty-one years of age during the entire term of office and will serve until a successor is elected. The election is held following the election of the National Chief and National Vice-Chief.

As the Southern Region Chief, Harrison will be tasked as the youth leader in charge of implementing the National Order of the Arrow programs, events and training seminars throughout 13 southern US states, helping lead the Order’s efforts at the 2017 National Scout Jamboree, attending National and Regional OA Committee Meetings and many other exciting tasks and opportunities.

Upon taking office later today, Harrison will become the first Region Chief to ever come from the territory served by Lincoln Heritage Council, and only the third National Officer, following Tom Fielder, of White Feather Lodge, Four Rivers Council, in 1968 as National Conference Chief, and Edward Stumler, of Tseyedin Lodge, George Rogers Clark Council in 1974 as National Vice Chief.

For details on the election process please click here.



The Order of the Arrow Lodge for LHC

Talligewi Lodge 62 was first chartered on January 1, 1995 to the Lincoln Heritage Council in Louisville, Kentucky. The creation of the Lodge came as a result of the merger of Tseyedin Lodge #65 of the George Rogers Clark Council and Zit-Kala-Sha Lodge #123 of the Old Kentucky Home Council. Because of this merger, we have grown and prospered as the lodge servicing the Lincoln Heritage Council.

Among our many accomplishments locally are the completion of the Seven Arrows Trail at Camp Crooked Creek and the reopening of the Lincoln Trail. In addition we have also hosted three Section SR-6 conclaves (1999, 2002 and 2011), staffed four Patriot Games for the Council (1995, 2000, 2003 and 2007), attended seven National Order of the Arrow Conferences, won the coveted Quest for the Golden Arrow four times and logged thousands of hours of service to our camps and our council.

On a national level, we have been recognized as a honor lodge seven times and been selected as a recipient of the National Service Grant.

The Nguttitehen Lodge website is the highest ranking in the nation and has finished top three in every National Order of the Arrow web site competition held since 2004.

To learn more about the OA, please visit the National OA website at http://www.oa-bsa.org/

To register for the 2016 Conclave.