The Lincoln Heritage Council is one of the oldest local Councils serving both urban and rural areas in the United States. Their first charter was granted under the name "Louisville Area Council" in 1912. Later they applied for and received permission to change the name of the Council to "Old Kentucky Home Council", which remained the name until 1992. In 1992, the George Rogers Clark Area Council, based out of New Albany, Indiana, chose to join efforts with their neighbor, the Old Kentucky Home Council . The councils merged, and on January 1, 1993, the Lincoln Heritage Council officially came to be.

On April 1, 2012 the Lincoln Heritage Council welcomed 39 counties in western Kentucky, Illinois and Tennessee formally served by the Shawnee Trails Council. The territory became the Western Service Area in the Lincoln Heritage Council.

The Council has thirteen geographical districts and four service areas.The Lincoln Heritage Council #205 is composed of 64 counties in Kentucky, Illinois, Indiana and Tennessee.

Kentucky: Adair, Allen, Ballard, Barren, Breckinridge, Bullitt, Butler, Caldwell, Calloway, Carlisle, Carroll, Christian, Crittenden, Cumberland, Daviess, Edmonson, Fulton, Graves, Grayson, Green, Hancock, Hardin, Hart, Henderson,Henry, Hickman, Hopkins, Jefferson, Larue, Livingston, Logan, Lyon, Marion,Marshall, McCracken, McLean, Meade, Metcalfe, Monroe, Muhlenberg, Nelson, Ohio, Oldham, Shelby, Simpson, Spencer, Taylor, Todd, Trigg, Trimble, Union, Warren, Webster and Washington                                                                                                         

Indiana: Clark, Crawford, Floyd, Harrison, Scott and Washington                                                                                                                                                                                      

Illinois: Hardin, Massac, and Pope                                                                                                                                                                                                                            

Tennessee: South Fulton Community             

The Districts of the Lincoln Heritage Council are:

Audubon District (Daviess, Hancock, Henderson, McLean and Ohio counties in Kentucky)

Cherokee District (Southeast Jefferson County)

Chief Old Ox District (Clark, Scott, and Washington counties in Indiana)

Dan Boone District (Trimble, Henry, Oldham, Shelby, and Carroll counties)

Four Rivers District (Hardin, Massac and Pope counties in Illinois; Ballard, Carlisle, Fulton, Graves, Hickman and McCracken counties in Kentucky and the South Fulton community in Tennessee)

George Rogers Clark District (Harrison, Crawford, and Floyd counties in Indiana)

Iroquois District (West Jefferson counties)

Lincoln Trail District (Hardin, Grayson, Breckinridge, Meade, and LaRue counties)

Old Kentucky Home District (Bullitt, Washington, Nelson, Marion, Taylor, Green, Adair, and Spencer counties)

Shawnee District  (Northwest Jefferson County in Kentucky including the following areas: Downtown, Old Louisville, Portland, West End, and Shively)

Seneca District (Northeast Jefferson County)

Tecumseh District (Caldwell, Christian, Crittenden, Hopkins, Muhlenberg, Todd, Union and Webster counties in Kentucky)

Wapiti District (Allen, Barren, Butler Cumberland, Edmonson Hart, Logan Metcalfe and Monroe, Simpson and Warren counties in Kentucky)

Last revised on